Thursday, July 30, 2009

pizza and a movie

Hey everyone,
Well, I just thought I would give you all a quick update about how the Pizza and movie night went. It was, to our surprise, good. We had 4 kids show up (there are only 6 in town right now) so we were pretty pleased and, they all got along!! Yay, the new kids and the kids who know each other all talked and hit it off so it was really encouraging. And we really needed that. It's weird because in the US we could plan events all day long and know they would turn out great but here you have to completely re-learn how to do everything. Even things as simple as baking chocolate chip cookies can become a disaster when you can't figure out which of the ten possible heat settings to use or exactly how many degrees Celsius 350 farenheit is. Anyway, last night was a sigh of relief.

I made pizza, its way cheeper than buying it. And I thought I made way too much, we only were having four teenager but, they just kept eating. I was once again amazed at the empty stomachs of teenage kids! I made 3 giant pizzas and they ate almost all of them. Like 3 pieces left! Anyway, it was crazy. I was glad the pizza turned out too because you know, cooking is different here. They don't really put mozerella on their pizza, they use gouda. Man these germans eat a lot of gouda!

Anyway, so we made the pizza and then played the game "Have you ever?" while we waited for it to finish. Then we ate and watched a movie and the kids left at about 10pm. They were there about 4 hours. It was fun.

One of my girls left today for Switzerland for summer camp. She will be gone two weeks and Im really bummed because I really liked hanging out with Pegah but, she will be back before we leave. Crazy that we only have about 3 weeks left! Seriously weird.

Tonight we had an LST party which was good, the church members seemed to enjoy it. It was kinda of funny but there were no readers there only members tonight. But they all really enjoy getting together and the new LST team did a pretty good job throwing it although they were really nervous and poor Barbara, one of the members who helps LST, ended up having to do a lot of the planning and preparing herself.

Also, today we read with our younger kids again. It's really hard because LST isn't designed for kids and the biblical translation used is way above their cognitive level. I worked on creating an easier translation and activity for them to do today and I think it went better. The kids definately felt more successful and hopefully were learning vocab that was more appropriate for their age level. I mean seriously, who wants to teach an 8 year old what a virgin is?? Not really an LST workers job!

Well, that pretty much covers it. We have a Bible study we will go to with Bill tomorrow, as well as a german lesson. Brandon may see Bijan, Pegah's brother and we plan on gonig to the Christian bookstore to see if we can't find an NICV (New International Children's Version) of the Bible and maybe some beginning German workbooks for me. Im not quite as quick as Brandon. Also, Uli, the church member who took us around before kind of wants to do something on Sunday so we will see.

Again thank you all for your prayers, love and support. We can't wait to see you all when we get back!

No comments:

Post a Comment